Royal Manitoba Theatre Centre-Media Centre
“A masterpiece of astonishing power” – New York Magazine

At a Broadway theatre in 1957, rehearsals are underway for a new play. Behind the scenes, veteran Black actors are dispensing advice to their young counterpart. For them, playing a role is a way of life. Don’t be too smart or too outspoken, and don’t get too close. Meanwhile, the white director expects raves for showing enlightenment but his actions fall short. In the play-within-a-play, the Black sharecroppers look for the vote but find nothing but trouble. And the tension in the rehearsal room rises …

Alice Childress was deprived of being the first Black woman to have a play on Broadway when she refused to tone down the message of her 1955 comedy-drama. Now, 65 years later, the New York Times is calling Trouble in Mind, “the play of the moment”.
 


Opening Night sponsor:



Trouble in Mind was originally programmed to be directed by Audrey Dwyer. We thank Audrey for her invaluable work on this show.


Cast & Crew

Production
Coming soon
Cast
Coming soon

Tickets

Date Time Notes Availability  
Wed Feb 15 7:30 PM Preview Best Seating Buy
Thu Feb 16 7:30 PM Opening Night Best Seating Buy
Fri Feb 17 7:30 PM Best Seating Buy
Sat Feb 18 4:00 PM Best Seating Buy
Sat Feb 18 8:30 PM Best Seating Buy
Tue Feb 21 7:30 PM Talkback (what's this?) Best Seating Buy
Wed Feb 22 2:00 PM Best Seating Buy
Wed Feb 22 7:30 PM Best Seating Buy
Thu Feb 23 7:30 PM Best Seating Buy
Fri Feb 24 7:30 PM Best Seating Buy
Sat Feb 25 4:00 PM Best Seating Buy
Sat Feb 25 8:30 PM Best Seating Buy
Sun Feb 26 2:00 PM Best Seating Buy
Tue Feb 28 7:30 PM Best Seating Buy
Wed Mar 1 2:00 PM Talkback (what's this?) Best Seating Buy
Wed Mar 1 7:30 PM Best Seating Buy
Thu Mar 2 7:30 PM Best Seating Buy
Fri Mar 3 7:30 PM Best Seating Buy
Sat Mar 4 4:00 PM Best Seating Buy
Sat Mar 4 8:30 PM Best Seating Buy
Sun Mar 5 2:00 PM Best Seating Buy
Tue Mar 7 7:30 PM Best Seating Buy
Wed Mar 8 2:00 PM Best Seating Buy
Wed Mar 8 7:30 PM Best Seating Buy
Thu Mar 9 7:30 PM Best Seating Buy
Fri Mar 10 7:30 PM Best Seating Buy
Sat Mar 11 4:00 PM Best Seating Buy
Production ID: 30296
Start Date: 2/15/2023 12:13:13 PM
End Date: 3/11/2023 12:13:28 PM
Title: Trouble in Mind
Playwright: By Alice Childress
Billing: Directed by Cherissa Richards
A co-production with Citadel Theatre
Warnings:
Synopsis: “A masterpiece of astonishing power” – New York Magazine

At a Broadway theatre in 1957, rehearsals are underway for a new play. Behind the scenes, veteran Black actors are dispensing advice to their young counterpart. For them, playing a role is a way of life. Don’t be too smart or too outspoken, and don’t get too close. Meanwhile, the white director expects raves for showing enlightenment but his actions fall short. In the play-within-a-play, the Black sharecroppers look for the vote but find nothing but trouble. And the tension in the rehearsal room rises …

Alice Childress was deprived of being the first Black woman to have a play on Broadway when she refused to tone down the message of her 1955 comedy-drama. Now, 65 years later, the New York Times is calling Trouble in Mind, “the play of the moment”.
 
Facility: John Hirsch Mainstage
Alternate URL: https://royalmtc.ca/Current-Plays/Trouble-in-Mind.aspx
Play Image:
Word Mark: 083be4f9-28b2-4b0b-bfc1-d21cd865032a
Rotator Image: 7f063c78-3940-4bd3-be23-7027eebb3d14
Display Rotator From: 1/16/2023 9:00:00 AM
Display Rotator To: 3/11/2023 11:59:00 PM
 

Stay in the loop!

JOIN OUR MAILING LIST
Sign up now!