Festivals & Events


Royal Manitoba Theatre Centre and the Manitoba Bar Association present

Book by Harvey Fierstein
Music and Lyrics by Jerry Herman
Based on the play by Jean Poiret

April 26-30, 2016
Directed by Steven Schipper
Choreographed by Sofia Costantini*
Musical Direction by Danny Carroll

La Cage aux Folles invites us to witness the farcical adventures of two very different families that begin the journey of becoming one against the backdrop of a very unusual cabaret nightclub in St. Tropez.
Twenty four incredibly talented members of Manitoba’s legal community brought this hilarious Tony Award winning musical comedy to life at the Tom Hendry Warehouse. 

The cast of the 2016 Royal MTC/MBA Lawyer's Play - La Cage Aux Folles

Gail Asper, Andrea Bellhouse, Kalyn Bomback, Krista Boryskavich, Paul Cooper, Joel Guénette, Melissa Hazelton, Kate Henley, Vivian Hilder, Reannah Hocken, Jessica Isaak, Bryan Klein, Ryan Krahn, Mark O'Neill, Jeff Palamar, Sandi Phillips, Laura Robinson, Evan Roitenberg, Jaime Rosin, Priti Shah, Garth Smorang, Neil Steen, Maria Versace, Richard Yaffe


Since its inception in 1990, the annual Lawyers Play has been a very important fundriasing event for Royal MTC and the Winnipeg Fringe Theatre Festival, raising over $970,000 to date. The support of our patrons, donors, program advertisers and sponsors ensure we continue to offer incredible theatre at accessible prices for all Manitobans.

Presenting Sponsor

Silver Sponsor

Reception Sponsor

Design Sponsor

Wine Sponsor


For more information on this event, please contact:
Michael Joyal, Development Data Manager
204 954 6411

*Appears with the permission of Canadian Actors' Equity Association
La Cage Aux Folles
is presented by special arrangement with SAMUEL FRENCH, INC.